The Road From Here to There, part 1

… was a long and windy one.

pic: cherionethingivelearned.blogspot.com

When I moved to the US in 1997 I never wanted to go back to Germany.  I didn’t even want to go back for Christmas break and having to spend the summer in Europe for a job was only bearable because I spent it in London and knew I would return, 8 weeks later, counting down the days like some 18 year old during compulsory military service in Germany.

America was so much larger than life, opportunities were abound and – being still fairly young, healthy, highly educated, attending one of the country’s best graduate schools – I, and all my friends, believed that if we only tried hard enough we would make it.  Whatever that meant for each one of us (for the majority: a job as investment banker or Big 5 consultant – such were the times).

Germany, heck, all of Europe felt quaint, like something out of a different era, a slower time, a place you visit to marvel at ancient buildings and sit in beer gardens.

Not only that, people were more open, friendlier in the US.  Cashiers would chat instead of be rude, people on the bus or in the ladies’ room would complement me on my scarf, purse, shoes, hair color – whatever.  Superficial – maybe, but still a lot better than being grouchy.

It was the Clinton years – looking back a golden prosperous time – with great opportunities and optimism and just enough juicy scandals (yes, I am thinking Monica) to keep us entertained.  Life was great and bound to get better every single day.

I knew after one week that I wanted to stay.  Forever.  And I did – until now.  15 years later.  A small forever!

Leave a comment