Archive for September 19th, 2012

September 19, 2012

Starting the Process

When our son was 3 1/2 we took a six month sabbatical and traveled to six different countries (the blog for that adventure is here) around the world.  We rented our house and rented apartments, houses wherever we went – so one should think that I know exactly what to do when it comes to planning long-term absences.  Yes, I do – and that’s exactly why I am, well, scared of the task ahead.

I am afraid that soon, this could be me. pic: acccbuzz.wordpress.com

It took me months the last time, literally, to get it organized and a lot of it was on the home front, so to speak.  Just getting the house ready to be rented out was a major undertaking in painting, fixing, cleaning, tossing, organizing. Then finding renters and doing things like canceling what ended up being 20 magazine subscriptions, dealing with the DMV over the driver’s license renewal which was due smack in the middle so I couldn’t do it before or after, paying property taxes, dealing with the cars,  health insurance, etc.

Abroad the situation was both easier and more complicated than it will be this time.  Easier because wherever we went, we didn’t really move there, we were visitors on a somewhat extended stay, we needed visa for India – and that was an annoying day in the embassy in San Francisco but it was just that an annoying day and then it was over – but no other paperwork was required.  This time things will be different, since we are going to spend a year and the Germans are somewhat anal when it comes to paper work and permits and such like.  For example, you can’t just up and leave and move to a new place in Germany (even as a German) you have to go to a special city office and hand in paper that you don’t live there anymore and then in your new place you have to do the same, you have so to speak, enroll in the new city.  And don’t even think about not following that rule, if they catch you it is going to be really expensive.

This type of stuff used to be normal to me but after 15 years here the mere idea of having my name and address in some computer at the local authorities makes me nervous.  What the heck are they doing with that?  Why do they need to know?

Bad thing is I have forgotten a lot of that stuff and new rules and regulations are now in existence.  I will have to do some real research on that – and the mere idea virtually puts me to sleep.

So, and now I will return to the garage where the cleaning activities have begun.